Depending on the state, traffic laws and the penalties associated with them will vary. In Michigan, fines for disobeying traffic laws can vary greatly depending on the offense. Although which offenses are punishable will not generally vary from city to city, there may be differences in the fines and penalties associated with the offense. For example, according to 14A District Court (www.14adistrictcourt.org), the following is the fee schedule for non-limited access speeding violations:
- Speeding 1-5 mph over the limit – $120.00 and 2 points
- Speeding 6-10 mph over the limit – $130.00 and 2 points
- Speeding 11-15 mph over the limit – $140.00 and 3 points
- Speeding 16-20 mph over the limit – $160.00 and 4 points
- Speeding 21-25 mph over the limit – $180.00 and 4 points
- Speeding 26-30 mph over the limit – $220.00 and 4 points
According to the 52-1 District Court in Novi, the same offenses have the following fees associated with them:
- Speeding 1-5 mph over the limit – $115.00 and 2 points
- Speeding 6-10 mph over the limit – $125.00 and 2 points
- Speeding 11-15 mph over the limit – $130.00 and 3 points
- Speeding 16-20 mph over the limit – $140.00 and 4 points
- Speeding 21-25 mph over the limit – $150.00 and 4 points
- Speeding 26-30 mph over the limit – $160.00 and 4 points
Despite the difference in fees, the rules still stay the same making it important that you, as an informed motorist, learn the laws regarding traffic in your state. The excuse that you didn’t know, will rarely get you very far in a court of law.
Dealing With Traffic Law
While we may go through our entire life without a problem, most of us will at some point, face some issue in regard to a traffic violation. Whether it is from parking in the wrong spot, speeding or something more serious like drinking and driving, if you are facing being charged with an infraction or a crime, it is your job to know what you need or would like to do and if a lawyer could benefit you.
Like other types of law, traffic law can be confusing and when it comes time to pay the fine and admit guilt or go to court, a good traffic lawyer Ypsilanti MI may be just what you need. If you plead guilty and pay a fine for something serious, you may face not only points and fees but even suspension of your license or loss of your license completely. While punishments like this are generally limited to quite serious offenses, even something you think is small may cost you thousands in insurance premiums throughout the span of your life.
Traffic Lawyer Ypsilanti MI
If you are concerned about a ticket you have received and are not sure what you should do, Wolverine Law works in traffic law in Ypsilanti Michigan and can help you. If you would like more information on how we can help you with issues regarding traffic law, contact us today by phone at 734.481.8911 or contact us online here. Do not try to face the law on your own, let Wolverine Law be there to help you.
Like virtually all offenses today, penalties for DUIs or Driving Under the Influence vary from state to state. A DUI is defined as the act of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol above the legal limit. If you are facing a DUI charge you will need a skilled attorney to help you navigate your way through the extremely complicated and detailed laws which are associated with this charge.
There are a number of classifications of DUI laws. Understanding what all these laws and classifications mean and how they will affect you will often require a Michigan DUI attorney. Basically, under Michigan law, the rules relating to drinking and driving are as follows:
- It is illegal to drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs, alcohol as well as some prescribed medications.
- It is illegal to drive with a bodily alcohol content of .08 or more. (This crime is one of the driving while intoxicated offenses.)
- It is illegal to drive with a bodily alcohol content of .17 or more.(This “High BAC” crime is one of the driving while intoxicated offenses.)
- It is illegal to drive with any amount of schedule 1 controlled substance in your body including cocaine.
In addition it is also illegal to:
- If you are under 21, drive with a bodily alcohol content of .02 or more, or with any presence of alcohol in your body except for that consumed at a generally recognized religious ceremony.
- If you are under 21, Buy, possess, or consume alcoholic beverages. (Michigan.gov)
Michigan has two main offenses in relation to drunk driving which include:
- Operating under the influence or OUI
- Operating while impaired OWI
- In 2010 another drunk driving law was put into affect as well. Called the Super Drunk Driving Law, you can read more about this law here. Michigan’s Super Drunk Driving Law
Each has different fines, a different severity and may depend on circumstances, the judge and your DUI attorney. If you are arrested for a DUI, you need to take the charge seriously as the penalties in Michigan can be quite severe and range from fines of over $100 to $500 for a first offense to community service or revocation, denial or suspension of your license and jail time depending on the number of convictions and the outcome of your charge i.e. if you injured anyone or put anyone in danger while under the influence.
DUI Attorney Belleville MI
DUI’s can have serious consequences and are a serious charge, one that you will not want to face alone. Wolverine law is a skilled DUI attorney Belleville MI and has the knowledge to help you. If you live in the Belleville area or greater Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti area and are facing a DUI charge,you should contact Wolverine Law for a free consultation or call and talk to us directly at 734-481-8911. Do not wait until it is to late, contact Wolverine Law right away.
On October 31, 2010, Michigan’s new “super drunk” driving law went into effect, which changed several sections of the Michigan Vehicle Code. Previously, intoxicated drivers faced charges of Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) or Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), when their blood alcohol content (BAC) was less than 0.08 or equal to or greater than 0.08, respectively. Now, with the introduction of the “super drunk” classification, first-time offenders with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.17 retain the OWI charge, while those with a BAC greater than 0.17 are classified as “super drunk.” Along with this new classification, “super drunk” drivers face stricter regulations and penalties than drivers charged with OWI (see Table for first time offender penalty comparison). These penalties include larger fines, longer license suspensions, and mandatory alcohol treatment programs. If you have been charged with driving under the influence and have questions regarding your situation, please contact a local attorney.
|First-time offenders||OWVI||OWI||“Super drunk”|
|Community service/jail time/fine||1 or more of the following: comm. serv. for not more than 360 h; up to 93 d jail; $0-300 fine.||1 or more of the following: comm. serv. for not more than 360 h; up to 93 d jail; $100-$500 fine.||1 or more of the following: comm. serv. for not more than 360 h; up to 180 d jail; $200-$700 fine.|
|Alcohol treatment program or a self-help program||May have to attend||May have to attend||Must attend an alcohol treatment program or a self-help program for a period of not less than 1 yr(257.625(b)(5))|
|Points||4 points||6 points||6 points|
|Driver responsibility fee||$500 per yr for 2 yr||$1000 per yr for 2 yr||$1000 per yr for 2 yr|
|License suspension||0/90 d susp/rest(257.319(8)(a))||30/180 d susp/rest(257.319(8)(a))||45 d/1 yr susp/rest(257.319(8)(c))|
|Ignition lock device||NA||NA||Required- 1 yr(257.319(8)(h))|
|License reinstatement fee||$125||$125||$125|
|Immobilization||May order vehicle immobilization for not more than 180 days for first offense (257.904(d))||May order vehicle immobilization for not more than 180 days for first offense (257.904(d))||May order vehicle immobilization for not more than 180 days for first offense (257.904(d))|
On December 31, 2010, a new Michigan law (MCL 257.320d) went into effect. This law permits individuals to attend traffic school to avoid certain minor traffic tickets from getting reported to insurance companies. Like any law, however, there are certain requirements that must be met. First, you must have a valid, unrestricted, unsuspended, and non-revoked license with less than three points on your record. Second, the ticketed driver must not have been driving a commercial vehicle nor be licensed as a commercial driver. Third, the ticket cannot be for any misdemeanor offense. Fourth, the violation carries less than four points. Fifth, the ticketed individual must not have received more than one moving violation arising out of the same incident. Sixth, the ticket cannot be for failing to stop for a school bus or for violating a governor imposed emergency speed limit. Finally, the ticketed individual must not have received another eligible ticket within 60 days and must not have ever previously obtained the benefit of this law. The Secretary of State has taken the position that the ticket also must have been received on or after December 31, 2010 to be eligible. However, the law does not on its face seem to support the Secretary of State’s position and it is likely that this issue will be litigated at some point in the future.
If an individual is eligible for this state program, that person will receive a letter from the Secretary of State at the address listed on the individual’s driver’s license. The letter will state that if the individual completes a driver improvement course which has been approved by the State, and provides proof that he/she has successfully completed the course within 60 days of the letter, the points and ticket will not be reported to the individual’s insurance carrier. The Secretary of State will keep a record of individuals who have completed the basic driver improvement course so that no person can use this law a second time. Therefore, subsequent moving violations will be reported to insurance companies.